Promoting Equality, Diversity and Human Rights

 The NHS is for everyone. No matter your gender, the colour of your skin, your heritage or your age, everyone should receive the same high quality care every time you use a NHS service.

The Equality Act became law in 2010 and covers everyone in Britain. It protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Equality, Diversity and Human Rights play a vital part in the work of the NHS locally. Every member of the community is likely, at some point, to receive some kind of health and social care. NHS Sunderland CCG welcomes diversity in society, acknowledging that experiences, aspirations and needs are as individual as each patient.

As a commissioner of health services and as an employer, NHS Sunderland CCG values all people as individuals irrespective of their protected characteristics.

This web page is one of the ways in which NHS Sunderland CCG communicates and promotes equality, values diversity and respects human rights in the commissioning of services for the local community.

For more information about the Equality Act 2010, go to: